We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Electric Fence Questions

Matt-Matt- Junior Member
edited April 2011 in Pig Tales and Stories
Hi folks,

I'm new to electric fencing, and need some advice.

I have a two acre field that I'm going to pasture two-three pigs in this summer. I'm planning to set up a 2 wire fence with three or four sections for rotational grazing. I've purchased a .5 joule low impedence Gallagher charger and a good grounding system.

Will the .5 joule charger be enough? I plan to move the fence every few weeks and will mow the grass along the lines before setting it up so there shouldn't be too many places where weeds get into it.

Most places I've read online say to buy at least a 3 joule charger for hogs, but I'm setting up less than 1 mile of wire. I know the joule rating is used to determine how long I can go with the wire, and have read 1 joule for ever 6 miles to keep the voltage up.

Is the joule rating the ammount of shock the animal will recieve, or is it a measurement of how far the voltage can travel to reach the end of the fence? I'm confused.

My goal is to give a very strong shock, but not over-spend on a charger. I may not like raising pigs and don't want to invest too much.

Thanks for the education,
-Matt

Comments

• Stevie GStevie G Super Moderator
    edited April 2011
    Matt- wrote:
    Hi folks,

I'm new to electric fencing, and need some advice.

I have a two acre field that I'm going to pasture two-three pigs in this summer. I'm planning to set up a 2 wire fence with three or four sections for rotational grazing. I've purchased a .5 joule low impedence Gallagher charger and a good grounding system.