We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

What do my piglet have?

Robin5kidsRobin5kids Junior Member
edited June 2011 in Pig Tales and Stories
Help! my new piglets are not well. They are itching and have diarrhea. I have only had them for 10 days or so. They started itching about 4 days ago. I bought hog dust for them thinking it was mites, but they are still itching. I noticed the diarrhea about 3 days ago, but it could have started sooner. I am new to pigs.

They seem to be gaining weight and they are still acting okay: runny about and rooting. They are doing a lot of itching though and the runny poop is not good. :( Advice?

Comments

• Stevie GStevie G Super Moderator
    edited April 2011
    Robin5kids wrote:
    Help! my new piglets are not well. They are itching and have diarrhea. I have only had them for 10 days or so. They started itching about 4 days ago. I bought hog dust for them thinking it was mites, but they are still itching. I noticed the diarrhea about 3 days ago, but it could have started sooner. I am new to pigs.

They seem to be gaining weight and they are still acting okay: runny about and rooting. They are doing a lot of itching though and the runny poop is not good. :( Advice?

Piglets generally tend to suffer from Ecoli scour after being born which can be treated with various injectable or orals ie Baytril 5%, Neftin, etc.
    If it were this then they would not still look in a good condition, so it may not be this??
    Outdoors piglets, more so, suffer from a scour called Coccidiosis(grey, bloody scour), which if it was this, and I am not saying its this, treatment is Baycox.
    It could also be a nutritional scour(yellowy, creamy). A sows feed should be gradually increased each day to prevent this.