We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

dosage rate for oxytocin

Anthony RollasonAnthony Rollason Junior Member
edited January 2011 in Vets and Producers
Can anyone give me an accurate dosgge rate for oxytocin 10 [iu], i am a vet here in Russia and our manufacturers say we should use 3ml, but i have always been lead to believe the rate is 0.5-1.0 ml, by using the high rate we are having increased stillbirths, i would appreciate any comments from all you pig people.

Comments

• Stevie GStevie G Super Moderator
    edited July 2010
    Can anyone give me an accurate dosgge rate for oxytocin 10 [iu], i am a vet here in Russia and our manufacturers say we should use 3ml, but i have always been lead to believe the rate is 0.5-1.0 ml, by using the high rate we are having increased stillbirths, i would appreciate any comments from all you pig people.

Its normally what you've said 0.5-1.0 ml, not as much as 3 ml. Always advise people to read the instruction, but one would presume you can't read them as there in Russian. But hey, I pretty certain its the lesser amount.
    edited July 2010
    Stevie - I am NOT a vet but have used plenty of oxytocin. In my opinion, anything under one mil is a waste of money. I regularly use it on farrowing sows and would not bother under 4 ml, if you want a result. Am I the odd man out? What is the repercussions of my actions.

Never given that amount in one go in my life, and have never had a vet recommend those sort of amounts, only a upto 1m. I internal and then give the oxy. and its never been a problem. Must do some homework on this one and come back to it.
  • rootsafricarootsafrica Senior Member
    edited July 2010