We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

swine welfare

Olga0077Olga0077 Junior Member
edited January 2010 in General Pig Health
Hello everyone,
I am a vet student and I'm interested to find out how many of you (farmers) have made changes at your farm, for your animal welfare, and have noticed an increasing level of health or/and a maximized production. Or at wich level is your animal welfare situated from the animal "Five Freedoms" point of view.
Freedom to express normal behaviour it's the most I'm interested in.
Thank you in advance for your answers, you can help me a lot for a study I'm making. Example-photos via e-mail are more than welcomed.

Comments

• rhodierhodie Senior Member
    edited December 2009
    I have managed several different pig breeding and raising systems.
    My lowest mortality has been on outdoor units, the highest in confinement systems. The chief reason for this is, I believe, because sick and lame pigs are identified earlier when they are more mobile and are therefore treated early and are more inclined to recover.
    At present I am managing an outdoor/organic farrow to finish unit with an on farm abattoir.
  • nicksdigsnicksdigs Senior Member
    edited December 2009
    Hello OLGA 0077,