ThePigSite.com - news, features, articles and disease information for the swine industry

Pmws

Laterhosen Junior Member
edited October 2015 in PMWS and PDNS
This is my first year raising pigs, and i dont know a whole lot about them. I have yet to get them, as their breeder keeps changing the date. I think they're at least 8 weeks old. Today I was able to visit them, and they all looked weak/sick. They had what looked like purple ink on their rear ends, and the mother also had some inside her ear. The farm owner did not have time to come to the pig pen with me so he gave me permission to peek at them on my own. Their pen was also quite due for cleaning...I did a little googling and kept seeing "pmws". What questions should I be asking the farmer? If the piglets have been sick should I not buy them? If I get piglets from anyone, are there vaccines I should be getting for them? (Pmws or not) I may just be paranoid but I've had a weird gut feeling prior to me noticing them seeming weak. Any advice would be appreciated!

Comments

• karlos Junior Member
    edited May 2013
    I would steer well clear of them- if you think they are sick......they probably are, its hard enough preventing diseases from entering a herd without buying it in
  • Stevie G Super Moderator
    edited May 2013
    Laterhosen said: